Tommy Tabberer cup final slots up for grabs

CUP WINNERS: The Charmouth team which won the Tommy Jabberer Cup back in May 1980; Back row - Pete kirkman, Dave Reed, John Stamp, Roger Storm, Roy Guppy, Graham Vere, Tommy Frampton, Kevin Trott and Mark Bevis. Front - Les Wheeler, Gerald Pomeroy, Richard Bettis, Colin Bowditch.

THE Perry Street & District League’s Tommy Tabberer Cup Finalists are set to be decided on Saturday.

Barrs Lane is the venue for the Charmouth versus Halstock game with the hosts the clear underdogs.

Back-to-back home league defeats have seen the Robins’ Division Two promotion hopes fade away, but manager Kevin Pratt is hoping for a response as his team attempt to lift neighbours’ Lyme Regis FC’s trophy for the third time in their history – the last time being back in 1979-80 when they defeated Farway 3-1 with goals from Gerald Pomery (2) and Graham ‘Percy’ Vere while Stan Lock netted the Farway consolation.

The Tommy Tabberer Cup

Halstock will come into the game full of confidence having clinched a place in the Dorset Junior Cup Final and still lying top of the Division Two table despite a 2-1 home defeat at the hands of Winsham United Reserves last Saturday. Charmouth will been to keep a close eye on striker Mark Cawley who has netted 33 goals in his 18 PSDL games this season.

The other semi sees Farway United welcome Winsham United with both teams looking to add to their solitary successes in the 56-year-old competition.

Farway have a good record of six wins from their seven home pitches this season at their narrow Eastlee Park home. But Winsham, who won the corresponding league fixture 3-2 Bakersfield back in January,  have been unpredictable this campaign and it may all hinge on which version turns up…

Sports Editor | Covering the whole of the Pulman’s/View From group of titles.
Howard has been covering sport in the East Devon, South Somerset and West Dorset region since 2007.